ING Unsung Hero Awards

This year marks the 15th anniversary of the ING Unsung Heroes program. Over the years, this program has recognized and awarded nearly 1,500 educators for their breakthrough projects to bring classroom teaching to new heights. Deadline Apr. 30, 2012.

Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science

There are outstanding science and mathematics teachers in every school system throughout Alabama and Georgia. Help us identify and recognize these hard-working educators by nominating them for the Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching (PAEMST). Nominated teachers must have completed 5 years of K-12 teaching prior to this year and currently be teaching Kindergarten through 6th-grade science or mathematics. Deadline in April, 2012

Delta Education/Frey-Neo/CPO Science Education Awards for Excellence in Inquiry-based Science Teaching

The Delta Education/Frey-Neo/CPO Science Awards for Excellence in Inquiry-based Science Teaching will recognize and honor three (3) full-time PreK–12 teachers of science who successfully use inquiry-based science to enhance teaching and learning in their classroom.

Reward Yourself!

You could win a trip to the NSTA National Conference on Science Education. Apply for NSTA Teacher Awards to showcase your hard work! At the high school level, DCAT, CPO, SeaWorld, Shell, and Vernier sponsor awards. In addition, the new Aerospace Award and the Maitland P. Simmons scholarships have niches for the high school science educator.

Intel Excellence in Science & Math

Intel honors U.S. schools demonstrating excellence in math and science education through innovative teaching and learning environments. To be considered as an Intel School of Distinction, schools must develop an environment and curricula that meet or exceed benchmarks put forth by national mathematics and science content standards. They will award 18 schools a cash grant of $5,000 from the Intel Foundation and a trip to Washington, D.C.. Six winners will be selected from the finalists and receive an additional $5,000 cash grant for a total of $10,000.